A Day of Civic Duty

Today was “Civic Duty Day” – or better known as Jury Duty in the Ventura County, CA Court System.   It was simply an uneventful day.  One Jury was called in the morning; 1 and 1/2  hour lunch, then dismal around 4:30 PM.

I managed to read about 100 pages of Robert Jordon’s CrossRoads in Twilight (Wheel of Time Series) which was quite amazing because I usually fall asleep in the most uncomfortable chairs.  I picked up right where I left off the last time I was a juror over a year ago…

I practiced humming the Disneyland Candlelight Procession Tenor Part most of the day while I was awake and this helped the reading pace.  I’m sure that it annoyed the hell out of other jurors which would explain why nobody was sitting next to me.

Driving to the Court today, I noticed a Thai food restaurant within walking distance. During our lunch break, I walked over to Jasmine Thai.  They have one of the best Thai Iced Coffees I’ve ever had.  The Panang was watery and left a strange taste.

Walking back to the Jury Room, I took a stroll along the County Court Campus walk ways.  I practiced out loud a little more of Candlelight but ended up singing the tenor part of “Stand by Me” performed by the Crimson River Quartet shown here:

Mernie Metzler is singing Tenor while Rick Moore is the tall bass singer.  Rick blogs over at http://HolyCoast.com and has some interesting political points of view besides being able to hit the  low notes.

